9 Types of Rattlesnakes: Species, Facts and Photos

Eastern Diamondback Rattlesnake (Crotalus adamanteus)

As the largest rattlesnake species in the Americas, this snake can grow up to 8 feet long, featuring diamond-shaped dark brown, black, and yellow markings.

Western Diamondback Rattlesnake (Crotalus atrox)

Known for its diamond-shaped patterns and robust size, this rattlesnake can reach up to 4 feet and possesses a distinctive black and white "coon tail" pattern on its tail.

Mojave Rattlesnake (Crotalus scutulatus)

Found in the southwestern United States and central Mexico, this snake's bites contain potent neurotoxins, and it primarily preys on small mammals, birds, and other snakes.

Timber Rattlesnake (Crotalus horridus)

Residing in eastern North America, this relatively docile snake measures between 36 to 60 inches and plays a crucial role in regulating rodent populations.

Sidewinder Rattlesnake (Crotalus cerastes)

This nocturnal snake exhibits a unique sideways movement and uses its tail as a lure to catch prey, preferring to avoid confrontation with potential threats.

Red Diamond Rattlesnake (Crotalus ruber)

With a reddish-brown or pinkish hue and diamond-shaped patterns, this rattlesnake species thrives in various habitats and primarily feeds on small mammals.

Arizona Black Rattlesnake (Crotalus cerberus)

Found in Arizona, New Mexico, and parts of Mexico, this venomous species features black or dark grey coloration and preys on small mammals and birds.

Pacific Rattlesnake (Crotalus oreganus)

Highly adaptable and camouflaged in various environments, this rattlesnake species ambushes small mammals, birds, and lizards as its prey.

Prairie Rattlesnake (Crotalus viridis)

Exhibiting muted earthy tones, this pit viper measures between 1.5 to 3 feet in length and plays a significant role in its ecosystem by regulating rodent populations.